Five years after the blinding “The Boats of the Glen Carrig”, nautic funeral doom heavyweights Ahab have released their first live album, “Live Prey”, captured at Death Row Fest 2017 in Jena, Germany. Drummer Cornelius Althammer comments on the setlist, picked from Ahab’s seminal “The Call of the Wretched Sea”: «These songs were written a long time ago, even before we became a proper band. Over the years and with a bunch of new live experiences, the songs have evolved and we were finally given the chance to capture them in a way they deserve. The days you have seen us perform them live, the way the songs have developed – you were able to witness the process on how we became Ahab.»

“Live Prey” sounds amazing. I mean, what to expect from the audience attending a funeral doom metal show? You’ll hear someone screaming here and there but overall this isn’t the kind of live album where you’ll be able to smell the campsite sweat of the crowd or anything like that. This is a massive performance, with intense slo-mo riffs, and when Daniel Droste opens his throat it sounds as heavy as a concrete sledgehammer. And what about that black and white swirl vinyl? It looks amazing too! What more could you want?

Order “Live Prey” at this location.

Live Prey Tracklist:
01. Below The Sun
02. The Pacific
03. Old Thunder
04. Ahab’s Oath
05. The Hunt

Subscribe digital version of 12” Magazine
Like Us On Facebook
Facebook Pagelike Widget
12 Inch Magazine
12'' Magazine. All rights reserved.